Piedmont Regional Committee

Meeting Minutes

Date: December 13, 2017

Location: Stanly County Commons, 1000 North First Street, Albemarle, NC 28001

Meeting Facilitated By: Melissa McKeown

Regional Committee Leadership

Position	First & Last Name
Regional Lead	Nicole Dewitt
Alternate Lead	Melissa McKeown
Coordinated Assessment Lead	Teresa Robinson

Attendees

First & Last Name	Agency	Contact Information
Teresa Robinson	Community Link	trobinson@communitylinknc.org
Skeet Ayscue	Homes of Hope	homesofhope747@gmail.com
Ginny Rainwater	Community Link	girainwater@communitylink.org
Melissa McKeown	Union County Community Shelter	Melissa.mckeown@unionshelter.org
John Mills	Community Link	jmills@communitylink-nc.org
Sherry Smith	Rowan Helping Ministries	ssmith@rowanhelpingministries.org
Beth Hill	Vocational Rehabilitation	Beth.hill@dhhs.nc.gov
Kris Mueller	Rowan Helping Ministries	kmueller@rowanhelpingministries.org
Holly Craighead	(Future) Anson County Homes of Hope, Inc.	Marycraighead495@yahoo.com
Patricia Bryant	Cardinal Innovations	Patricia.bryant@cardinalinnovations.org
Chanda Hurms	Homes of Hope	hohidevelopmentdirector@gmail.com
Chip Long	(Future) Anson County Homes	chipperlongnc@gmail.com
	of Hope, Inc.	
Tonya Lawrence	Family Endeavors	tlawrence@familyendeavors.org
Floyd Davis	Community Link	fdavis@communitylinknc.org
Roxi Johnson	Cardinal Innovations	Roxanna.johnson@cardinalinnovations.org
Mike	Cooperative Christian	mikeski@cooperativeministry.com
Wojciechowski	Ministries	
Andrea Merriman	Esther House	Psc.estherhouse@gmail.com
Terrance Gerald	Haven Redevelopment Group	<u>Talexander63@aol.com</u>
Ashley Langmead	Community Link	alangmaead@communitylinknc.org
Ashley Phillips	CMDC	aphillips@ptmc.net
Brian Alexander	NCCEH	brian@ncceh.org
Derrick Burnell	At Large Steering Committee Member	Dlburnell65@gmail.com
	IVICITIOCI	

Approval of Minutes

No September minutes available. Secretary was late to meeting due to traffic accident.

1. BoS Steering Committee meeting highlights, Melissa McKeown, Union County Community Shelter

- a. Grants Transfer Workgroup
 - 1. The Steering Committee approved the grant transfer workgroup proposal posted at: www.ncceh.org/bosminutes/
 - 2. The process includes 3 parts:
 - ii. o Announcement of available transfers
 - 1. § Shared through email, website, and agency engagement
 - iii. o Submission of documentation from interested parties
 - 1. § Letter of Intent from all
 - 2. § Written Proposal from non-grantees
 - iv. o Impartial Review
 - 1. § Conducted by Project Review Committee
 - 2. § Recommendation approved by Steering Committee
- b. HMIS Lead Discussion
 - i. The Steering Committee approved a change of HMIS Lead from the Michigan Coalition to End Homelessness to NCCEH, starting July 1, 2018
 - ii. See NCCEH letter explaining the change at: www.ncceh.org/files/8830/
- c. ESG Update
 - i. The state ESG office announced 2017 awards on November 22, 2017
 - ii. Talk with your Regional Committee Lead and/or ESG Lead for local awards and conditions
 - iii. Key takeaways from the ESG office
 - 1. o Regions did not scrutinize project applications enough
 - 2. o Applications were incomplete: all attachments were not included
 - 3. o Applicants did not answer the question asked
- d. Steering Committee Expansion
 - i. The Steering Committee elected new "at-large" members to start January 1, 2018, as follows:
 - 1. o Barry Shipp lived experience
 - 2. o Derrick Burnell lived experience
 - 3. o Jessa Johnson NC Department of Health and Human Services
 - 4. o Angela Harper King NC Department of Health and Human Services
 - 5. o Lisa Phillips NC Homeless Education Program
 - 6. o Paul Kimball NC Housing Finance Agency
 - 7. o Dana Mangum NC Coalition Against Domestic Violence
 - 8. o Donna Fayko Rowan County Department of Social Services
 - 9. o Christina Miller Vidant Duplin Hospital



- 10. o Parker Smith Pisgah Legal Services
- ii. New Steering Committee member orientation is being held on Friday, December 15th, at 2 PM. All new Regional Leads or Regional Lead alternates are encouraged to attend. All other new Regional Committee leadership are welcome. Register at: www.ncceh.org/events/1210/
- e. 2018 PIT/HIC
 - i. The 2018 PIT/HIC Count will occur on Wednesday, January
 - 31. Please note this is a change from the previously announced date!
 - ii. · Regional Committees should:
 - 1. o Create PIT/HIC committees
 - 2. o Choose PIT/HIC Lead
 - iii. Required forms will be posted by the end of December at: www.ncceh.org/pitforms/
 - iv. NCCEH will hold a PIT/HIC webinar for PIT Leads on Thursday, January 4, at 2:00 PM. Register at: www.ncceh.org/events/1218/
- f. Coordinated Assessment
 - i. The Steering Committee approved a change to question 2 on the Prevention and Diversion Screen. Question 2 now reads: Are you currently residing with, or trying to leave, an intimate partner, family members, caregiver, or other person in your home who threatens you or makes you fearful? Regions should begin using the updated form immediately posted at: www.ncceh.org/bos/coordinatedassessment/

2. Cardinal Innovations grant update, Brian Alexander, NCCEH; Roxi Johnson, Cardinal Innovations

Brian Alexander introduced the grant transfer policy per the Steering Committee workgroup. Roxi Johnson presented the plan between Cardinal Innovations and Community Link to transfer PSH grant. No vote needed at this time. Information sharing only.

3. PRC Coordinated Assessment, Ginny Rainwater, Community Link; Teresa Robinson, Community Link, CA Lead

PRC Coordinated Assessment 2017 Outcomes presented.

4. Regional Veteran's Update, John Mills, Community Link

John Mills introduced himself and Ashley Langsmead, both new employees at Community Link. John will serve as the Regional Veteran Lead for the PRC.



5. PIT County Leads

Matt Dinkins, Union County (PRC Regional Lead)
Tierra McDonald, Stanly County
Paula Yost, Cabarrus County
Sherry Smith, Rowan County
Danette Edwards, Davidson County

6. Regional Elections

PRC LEADERSHIP ROLES

Regional Lead – Nicole Dewitt, Community Link
Regional Alternate – Melissa McKeown, Union County Community Shelter
Coordinated Assessment Lead – Teresa Robinson, Community Link
ESG Funding Lead – Ed Hosack, Cooperative Christian Ministries
Point in Time Lead – Matt Dinkins, Union County Community Shelter
Webmaster – Teresa Robinson, Community Link
Veterans Lead – John Mills, Community Link

PRC EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Patricia Bryant, Cardinal Innovations, Cabarrus County (2nd term)

Danette Edwards, Family Services of Davidson County, Davidson County (2nd term)

Sherry Smith, Rowan Helping Ministries, Rowan County (2nd term)

Skeet Ayscue, Homes of Hope, Stanly County (1st term)

Matt Dinkins, Union County Community Shelter, Union County (1st term)

Nicole Dewitt, Community Link, Chair (1st term)

Melissa McKeown, Union County Community Shelter, Vice Chair (1st term)

Secretary, Chanda Hurms, Homes of Hope, Secretary (1st term)

Next Quarterly Piedmont Regional Committee meeting:

March 14, 2017, 10am-12pm Davidson County

