North Carolina Coalition to End Homelessness

Continua of Care

In order to coordinate activities to meet the needs of individuals and families who are experiencing homelessness and apply for federal funds, community partners come together to form a continuum of care.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Definition of Continuum of Care:

"The Continuum of Care is a community plan to organize and deliver housing and services to meet the specific needs of people who are homeless as they move to stable housing and maximum self-sufficiency. It includes action steps to end homelessness and prevent a return to homelessness."

North Carolina has 12 Continua of Care:

  • Asheville/Buncombe Co.
  • Chapel Hill/Orange County
  • Charlotte/Mecklenburg County
  • Durham/Durham County
  • Fayetteville/Cumberland County
  • Gastonia/Cleveland/Gaston/Lincoln Counties
  • Greensboro/High Point/Guilford County
  • Northwest NC CoC
  • Raleigh/Wake County
  • Wilmington/Brunswick/New Hanover/Pender Counties
  • Winston-Salem-Forsyth Co.
  • North Carolina Balance of State CoC

CoC Applications and Awards

Homeless assistance providers apply through their Continuum of Care for HUD funding for transitional housing, permanent housing, Shelter+Care, and HMIS projects. 

Contact Information

In North Carolina, the structure of continua varies amongst our communities. Some cities and counties assign staff to assist the continuum while other communities ask organizations to volunteer their time.


Category: practice | Sub Category: continua of care
Tags: care, coc, continuum, nc, of